Kativik Regional Government


The Kativik Regional Police Force (KRPF) delivers regular policing services with detachments in every community. Community detachments are composed of three officers, except in Kuujjuarapik, Inukjuak, Salluit, Puvirnituq and Kuujjuaq, which have respectively four, five, six, seven and eight officers. The headquarters of the KRPF are located in Kuujjuaq.

The Nunavik Investigation Unit was created in 2009 to promote the sharing of intelligence and expertise between the KRPF and the Sûreté du Québec (SQ). With one KRPF member and four SQ members based in Kuujjuaq, the Unit focuses on drug trafficking and bootlegging, as well as crimes of a sexual nature. In addition, the KRPF has a criminal intelligence officer who is mainly devoted to drug trafficking and bootlegging files. The position is funded through the Ungaluk Program for safer communities. Part of the officer’s duties involves gathering information from the communities that could be used to execute warrants or seizures under municipal by-laws.

The Aboriginal Combined Forces Special Enforcement Unit (A-CFSEU) is another joint policing initiative involving the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, the SQ and Aboriginal police services across Québec.