Kativik Regional Government

General Information

The Kativik Regional Government (KRG) was created in 1978 pursuant to the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement to deliver public services to Nunavimmiut. Many of the KRG’s responsibilities are stipulated in the Act respecting Northern Villages and the Kativik Regional Government (Kativik Act). Other mandates have been delegated to the KRG by the region’s municipalities and the Québec government. The sectors in which the KRG currently delivers services include:

  • Airport management and marine infrastructure maintenance.
  • Regional and local economic development, as well as business development.
  • Policing and civil security.
  • Crime victims assistance.
  • Inuit hunting, fishing and trapping support, as well as wildlife conservation.
  • Environment and climate change research.
  • Park development and management.
  • Employment, training and income support.
  • Childcare services.
  • Municipal infrastructure development and drinking water monitoring.
  • Internet access.
  • Sports and recreation.

The KRG also has the important task of delivering technical assistance to the 14 Northern villages regarding management and municipal accounting, land use planning and development, legal affairs, engineering and public transit, to name but a few fields.

In 2003, the KRG was designated, under the Act respecting the ministère des Affaires municipales, des Régions et de l’Occupation du territoire (municipal affairs, regions and land occupancy), as the Regional Conference of Elected Officers for the Kativik Region. In this capacity, it is the primary interlocutor of the Québec government and is recognized as an essential contributor to regional development projects.

The KRG operates an administrative office, a station for the Kativik Regional Police Force (KRPF) and an airport in each community. It has an annual budget of more than $200 million. This funding is received pursuant to more than 40 separate agreements, including the Agreement concerning Block Funding for the Kativik Regional Government (Sivunirmut Agreement).

The KRG has 11 departments and close to 400 employees. Excluding KRPF staff, almost 65% of the organization’s workers are Inuit and more than 44% are women. As well, over half of the KRG’s total workforce is based in communities other than Kuujjuaq, where the KRG head office is located.

The Kativik Region is Québec’s far north. It covers 500,164 km2 of territory beyond the 55th parallel. The region consists of 14 communities with a total population of roughly 11,000. Kuujjuaq is the largest community (with close to 2300 residents) and Aupaluk the smallest (with less than 200 residents). Inuit make up not less than 91% of the population.

There are no road links between the region’s communities or with southern Québec. Air transportation keeps the communities connected year-round. The summer sealift ensures the delivery of necessary non-perishable foods and supplies. Locally, Inuit depend on snowmobiles, ATVs and motor boats for subsistence hunting, fishing and trapping activities.