Kativik Regional Government

Quebec Forest, Wildlife and Parks Minister Visits Kuujjuaq for the 15th Anniversary of Nunavik Parks


From left to right: Minister Pierre Dufour, KRG Chairperson Jennifer Munick and KRG Director General Michael Gordon.

Jennifer Munick, Chairperson of the KRG, met on February 12 and 13 with the Minister of Forest, Wildlife and Parks, Pierre Dufour, who was visiting Kuujjuaq to participate to the celebrations of the 15th anniversary of Nunavik Parks, created by the KRG in 2004 to operate and protect parks in the region.

Read more ...

All Communities to Receive Help to Register Firearms

Firearms Registration

In the following weeks, the Kativik Regional Police Force, jointly with the Inuit Hunting, Fishing and Trapping Support Program and the northern villages, will provide assistance for firearms registration in all the Nunavik communities.

Read more ...

Assistance for the Firearms Registration

The Kativik Regional Police Force and the Kativik Regional Government (KRG) delivered assistance this week in Kuujjuaq to gun owners registering their firearms with the Québec firearms registration service. Police officers and Inuktitut-speaking staff of the KRG were available to answer questions and provide help filling out registration forms. At the same time, trigger locks were distributed for free to promote firearms safety.

Support for firearms registration is being planned in other Nunavik communities. To register their firearms, gun owners must have valid personal identification, such as a driver’s license, health insurance card with photo, passport, firearms license or JBNQA beneficiary card with photo. Firearms registration forms may be filled out online at: https://siaf.gouv.qc.ca/accueil.html?L=1.

New KRG Council Holds Its First Sitting

IMG 7562

Kuujjuaq, Québec, November 27, 2018 One of the first orders of business of the new Council of the Kativik Regional Government (KRG) today was the selection of an Executive Committee.The appointees are:

Jennifer Munick                    Chairperson

Hilda Snowball                     Vice-Chairperson

Jobie Tukkiapik                    Kuujjuaq

Sarollie Weetaluktuk            Inukjuak

Charlie Arngak                     Kangiqsujuaq

Read more ...

Québec Election Results

Kuujjuaq, Québec, October 2, 2018 – On behalf of the Kativik Regional Government (KRG), Chairperson Jennifer Munick and the members of the Executive Committee offer their congratulations to Premier Elect François Legault for leading the Coalition Avenir Québec to its majority victory in yesterday’s provincial elections.

Read more ...