Kativik Regional Government

Prix Hommage Aînés 2017 – Call for Nominations

Promote the outstanding volunteerism of a senior in your community
In order to recognize the outstanding commitment of seniors who voluntarily contribute to improving the quality of living and social participation of seniors in their communities, the Minister responsible for Seniors and Anti-Bullying, Francine Charbonneau, issued on May 15 a call for nominations for the Prix Hommage Aînés 2017.

The Nunavik Elders’ Committee will be collecting nominations until June 15, 2017, at which point they will be submitted to an independent selection committee. The Nunavik Elders’ Committee is subsequently responsible for recommending an award recipient for the region.

“The Prix Hommage Aînés highlights the actions of citizens who have a positive impact on the lives of seniors in their communities. I am pleased to invite the general public to take a few moments to consider elderly women and men of their acquaintance whose volunteerism has served to improve the living conditions of seniors. I would also like to thank the regional roundtables on seniors, which are valuable partners of government actions supporting seniors in Québec and active participants in the Prix Hommage Aînés.”

-Francine Charbonneau, Minister responsible for Seniors and Anti-Bullying-

• The call for nominations is open until June 15, 2017.
• Interested individuals and organizations may contact a regional roundtable on seniors to obtain nomination forms and submit their nominations.
• Award recipients will be honoured at a ceremony to be held on November 22.
• The Prix Hommage Aînés recipient for Nunavik in 2016 was Martha K. Greig of Kuujjuaq.

Information and contact
Website of the Ministère de la Famille (families) – Prix Hommage Aînés:

For information and to submit a candidacy, please contact the Nunavik Elders’ Committee:
• A/S Benjamin Arreak, coordinator
  Kativik Local Development Centre
  P.O. Box 9
  Kuujjuaq (Québec) J0M 1C0
  Telephone: 819-964-2961 ext. 2279
  Email :


Source: Office of the Minister responsible for Seniors and Anti-Bullying